Additional Canadian securities regulators enter into MOU with CFTC

May 2, 2016

The securities regulators in New Brunswick (FCNB), Nova Scotia (NSSC) and Saskatchewan (FCAA) have announced that that they have signed counterparts to a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the U.S. CFTC in regards to cooperation related to the supervision and oversight of entities that operate on a cross-border basis. As previously discussed,  the securities regulators in Ontario (OSC), Quebec (AMF), British Columbia (BCSC) and Alberta (ASC) initially signed the MOU on March 25, 2014 and Manitoba (MSC) signed a counterpart in October 2014. The MOU is intended to enhance the consultation, cooperation and exchange of information between the parties. For further information please see, the CSA’s April 27, 2016 press release

DISCLAIMER: This publication is intended to convey general information about legal issues and developments as of the indicated date. It does not constitute legal advice and must not be treated or relied on as such. Please read our full disclaimer at

Stay in Touch with Knowledge Hub